Let’s Discuss: DNF’ing Books

6918e72dcd97eee10acb08464618093dedit

You know it’s been a while since you’ve created a post, that when you do, the whole format changed and you aren’t sure if you like it or not….

Hi everyone, it’s been a while!

So, this week while I was cleaning my bookshelf I came to the realization that I have quite a lot of book that I have put down, and have no interest in continuing. But I’m a bit torn in the whole situation, because I’ve always been a finish till the end type of reader regardless if I like the book or not, and if I don’t finish I end up feeling like a failure. I don’t know why I’m like this, especially since there are so many books that I do want to read and will enjoy, yet I waste my time on books that don’t interest me.

This whole situation got me curious on how you guys feel about DNF-ing books. Are you guys like me and feel like you have to finish a book or do you not care and will stop mid way through if you don’t like it?

I’ve made a list of some of the books that I’ve DNF-ed and gave mini explanations as to why I’m no longer going to continue reading them. 

1. The Mysterious Benedict Society Trilogy

I purchased the first two books back when I was in middle school for a summer reading (no idea why I bought the second one as well). However, back then I wasn’t much of a reader and thought the books were too long, so I ended up reading something else. I decided to give it a shot a few months ago, and even though the book has an interesting plot, I lost interesting about halfway through the book. In my opinion it could have been about 100 pages shorter. The way this book is written reminds me of a happy version of a Lemony Snicket book.

2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Guys, I tried, but I couldn’t do it. The beginning was way too slow and I struggled to focus, I kept re reading the same sentence over and over again. I’ve heard such good things about it, but I couldn’t even get past the first chapter. I heard theres a movie so maybe I’ll give it a try, because I still don’t really know much about the plot of the book, other than the fact that it’s a mystery.

3. Family Ties by Clarissa Lispector

This is a DNF for now, but hopefully later on in life I’ll be able to pick it up. You see, I own this book in Portuguese and the book is written in old Portuguese. There were so many words/grammar structure that I didn’t understand, so I decided to save this for when I can understand modern Portuguese is better. 

4. The Internet Girls Series by Lauren Myracle

Another middle school purchase, however, back then I really enjoyed the first book so I ended up buying the second book and didn’t read it until last year. So I’m sure you are wondering why is this series on the list if I’ve read the first two book. Well, I re-read the first two books to remember what happened so I could then read the last two books, and I just wanted to smack my middle school self for liking these books so much. Guys, it’s horribly written (text format and the girls don’t know how to type). It reads as if this book was written by a 50 year old man trying to be “hip” and relatable. It was horrible. Never again. And I’m definitely not going to be continuing on with this series.

Okay, those are just some of the books I’ve DNF-ed. But I want to know what you guys think about DNF-ing books and which ones have you giving up on reading? Let me know below!

Thanks for reading ❤

7 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss: DNF’ing Books

  1. I generally finish every book I start but occasionally if I’m not in the right frame of mind I’ll put it down midway through. I do almost always go back although on a couple of occasions it was years later.

    Like

  2. I always try to finish a book, even if I don’t like it. It’s like a bad habit that I can’t fight 🙂 I always think that even if the book itself is boring, there might be some interesting thoughts or quotes in it. And I just don’t like leaving things unfinished.
    If the book is really boring, and I can’t get through it no matter how hard I try, I usually put it down for a while, but then get back to it.

    Like

  3. I don’t like DNFing, because sometimes when I stick through it I end up liking the book. XD This happened recently with Six of Crows. I hated the first half, but I ended up liking the book in the end. Good discussion!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

