Let’s Discuss #2: Diversity in Books

6918e72dcd97eee10acb08464618093dedit

Hey guys!

This weeks discussion is diversity in literature. I’m going to be honest with you guys, I rarely read books that have any type of diversity. Now, this isn’t because I don’t like the idea of diversity because I do, but because every book I pick up typically has the same cookie cutter type of character, I can’t escape it. Diversity in books shouldn’t even be a rare thing, but I feel like it is and it shouldn’t be.

There are so many types of people in the world from different races, cultures, religions etc. and yet it’s always the same type of person that gets portrayed in books and I’m bored with that. Whats crazy is the fact that I was always so use to reading books that contained the same type of characters, white female/male, who lives a pretty easy life and if the books included any POC character or character with some sort of disability they would be the only ones and would be used as the token character. It shouldn’t be weird or odd to have multiple different characters throughout a book who are different from one another.

This year I make it my mission to read more diverse books, I’m tired of the same old characterization from characters and want to read through different points of views. I want to experience life, struggles, mentalities etc. from a character that has a life completely different from mine, and who as a whole is different from me.

What do you guys think of diversity in literature, do you think there should be more representation of them or do you think there is already enough? Or do you think the majority of the time diverse characters aren’t being represented the way they should be?

I would love to hear your opinion and I just want to say that it’s completely okay to share a different opinion, if you don’t agree with me or anyone else that’s fine, just please keep it civil.

Also, if you guys have any recommendations of books that include diverse characters please let me know cos I’m currently in the search for good ones.

Thanks for reading ❤

5 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss #2: Diversity in Books

  1. One of my goals for the year is to read more diverse books as well, and I think I’ve done a decent job with it. I highly recommend A List of Cages by Robin Roe, one of the main characters has ADHD and the other has Dyslexia and another learning disability. The ADHD rep is amazing! If you’re looking for more on the romance side, even though it is controversial, I loved The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, and I also loved The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

