Top 5 Wednesday #6: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

tumblr_static_9hb9cmokwhkwcwcggwc8wg40sedit

You can find the Goodreads group here.

This weeks topic: Book Trends You’re Tired Of – What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

1. Love Triangles.

raw

I know so many people agree with this one, and yet many authors add this annoying trope to their books. Its one thing if it’s done correctly, or if its essential to the plot, but most of the time it’s completely useless and could be written out.

2. Cover Changes.

f8380657fe72ec48b68cbc9c999b5c2d 

I have a love and hate relationship with cover changes. I love it when ugly book covers get a makeover, however cover changes can get a bit problematic for me. I for one hate it when I’m in the middle of reading a series and own the majority of the books and then BAM the last book (or last few books) end up going through a makeover and then I’m stuck with the old covers. Then I want repurchase books that I already own, simply to please my aesthetic, but then I can’t because books are expensive. *sigh* I’m well aware this is such a first world problem, but I can’t help but love having series/trilogies etc. with matching covers. I envy those of you who honestly don’t care for covers.

3. Mary Sue’s.

giphy

If you aren’t familiar with this concept, read this, I’m using this term for both male and female characters. I love reading books that have main characters that I can relate to in one way or another, or at least have personality. No one is that perfect, and the fact that so many things come easy to them, or everyone loves them and they can do no wrong, is so unrealistic and annoys me to no end. Not to mention it just makes the book/plot feel very bland and boring.

4. Paperback & Hardcover Changes.

img_9437

Similar to the cover changes, I don’t like when a paperback trilogy/series turns into hardcover in the last few books. I for one love hardcover, but if I already own the books in paperback and then the last few books are only available in hardcover, I get a bit annoyed.  I know, another first world problem but I have to fuel my aesthetic somehow.

5. Insta-love.

giphy (1).gif

Ugh. Do I even need to explain how horrible insta-love is? I don’t believe in love at first sight, I can understand being attracted to someone at first sight, but loving someone is much more than just physical attraction. Insta-love gives sets up horrible expectations for young readers, and it makes me sad that many find it romantic.

These are my 5 top book trends that I’m tired or seeing/reading. What are yours? Do you agree or disagree with my list? Let me know!

Thanks for reading ❤

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #6: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

  1. One of mine is when you know the two people are going to end up together but they keep doing stupid things to PROLONG the inevitable. Sometime I stop reading books like that because it’s just filler until the story gets to the point. I also don’t like names that are strange and close to the other names for the characters. It’s as if the author just selected random letters and put them together and then did it for the next person. One thing that really bothers me is when the cover tells me the book is like the writing of another author I like but it’s NOTHING like that at all. I agree with you about the cover changes for the last book or two in a series. I don’t like female characters who cry or whine all the time and need to be protected or rescued. Yuk. I also don’t like long drawn out things that drag just so there are more pages in the book. Can’t read slow books…ever. this was a fun post. Thank you.

    Like

    • I agree 100% with all that you mentioned!!! I hate the prolonging, it just makes me not want to root for them. I’ve never encountered a book where the main characters names are similar to one another and hope I never do. I also hate when books compare themselves to other books, it just sets up the reader for disappointment. Ugh whiny characters are the absolute worst, especially if they are the main characters and we are in their heads all the time. Thanks for sharing your opinion ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

