Let’s Discuss #1: Audiobooks, Yay or Nay?

6918e72dcd97eee10acb08464618093dedit

I feel like audiobooks have been the craze for the longest time, and I decided to give them a shot a few months ago. Honestly, audiobooks are not for me, which is a shame because they can be very helpful when I’m too busy to sit down and read.

I tried listening to Pride and Prejudice while I was working out, and my mind kept drifting, and I couldn’t really focus on the story. So, I switched to music instead. I should have seen this coming, because whenever someone was reading out loud and I didn’t have the text in front of me to follow along with, I’ve always struggled to not drift off into a million and one thoughts.

I don’t know if I should give them another try, because university is coming up, and I know I won’t have much time to sit down and read, and there are so many books yet so little time.

But I want to know what your guy’s opinions are in regards to audiobooks. Do you like them? Do you rather listen to an audiobook or read the book instead? Or are you like me and just can’t seem to get into them? Let me know your opinions down below.

Thanks for reading ❤

33 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss #1: Audiobooks, Yay or Nay?

  1. I actually really love audiobooks. The first audiobook I tried was Twilight which I had already read before. I thought if I listened to a book i had already read before then I wouldn’t have trouble with it and I was right. Next I listened to Room by Emma Donoughue which I had not read before and I understood that one well too. So I guess I have been lucky with audiobooks. They really save a lot of time and help me read more. There have been 1 or 2 audiobooks where my mind drifted off. That was mainly because the story wasn’t that interesting to me. Great discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am exactly the same as you. I thought they would save me time, but I don’t like hearing someone else tell me a story, and I drift off. I thought the same when I was given a Kindle, thought it was great but put it down for a proper book because I missed the feel of pages.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was actually the same. The first time I tried it. I hated it! I couldnt gwt into the story so I gave up. Later on I decided to give it another shot. I listen to “The Call” by Peadar O’Guilin and I LOVED IT! The narrator was amazing. So in the end I says depends on the book and the person who narrates. I here illuminae has different people for there characters.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have found that AFTER I have read a book, or series, I enjoy listening to the audio because I have the same problem you do. I’ve listened to Harry Potter and the Jim Butcher series and actually listen to one of them every night when I go to bed. That way, if I wake up I know what’s going on. LOL I realize that that defeats the purpose of listening to something new but sometimes it’s better than listening to music, depends on the mood. I have been able to follow new audio books if they are exciting and the kind of book I love to read, otherwise I drift away and have to keep backing up. I’m a book person, some people listen to them in their cars when on trips and they enjoy that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I would love to be able to listen to audiobooks all the time… I would be able to read more books if so. But I can’t. I can’t get it into them all the time like I wish I could. Pretty much the only time I can listen to an audiobook is if I’ll be driving for a while. Other than that, like you said, I lose focus and my mind begins to wander. I’ve always just preferred actually reading versus listening.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Audiobooks are also a big struggle for me because I like to be able to listen and double task instead of just sitting and reading but they are hard to stay focused. There is a thing on Kindle where you can sync an audiobook with the kindle text so you can read along which I love! I just started getting into these because I travel a lot and it’s so much easier to just listen for a few hours on the bus!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not a huge fan. I was gonna post about this too lol. Only one audiobook tat I actually was able to dive into and tat was “The Call” by O’Guilin tat audiobook was actually really good and had some music towards the end. I really got pulled in. It’s a YA fantasy/dystopian type w/thriller/horror. There’s romance too. It’s really good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

