International Book of the Week #2

edit2

maxresdefaultThis week’s international book of the week is: Family Ties by Clarice Lispector.

Original title: Laços de Família.

Original language: Portuguese.

What it’s about: This book is composed of short stories written in the 1960s, I’m not sure if any of them correlate to her life, or if they are all fiction, but I’ve heard such good things about both this book and the author.

Why I chose it: The reason that I chose this book is because I have to read books written in Portuguese so I can expand my vocabulary, and writing. So that being said, you guys will notice that a lot of my future international book of the weeks will include quite a few Portuguese books. But for anyone out there who is interested in reading this book, there is an English version of this, and all of her other books.

This is a fairly short book, it only consists of 135 pages, and so I shouldn’t have any trouble finishing it by the end of this week.

If anyone is interested in reading along with me, feel free to do so!

Thanks for reading ❤

Leave a Reply

