Reading Challenge Update #1 & Feature Image issue

5a187b8ee3358c3775cbbe89e8b7c29bedit

I’ve been in a major book slump and I can’t seem to get out of it, so  I’ve been binge watching Salem instead. I need to get back on track with my reading challenge, and with my blog posting. I’m trying to figure out a posting schedule, so please bear with me.

Also, I’ve been struggling with my featured images on my posts. I don’t know if this is because of how my template is, but how do you guys add your feature images on the side of your posts? No matter what I do, my feature image only shows up on the top and I don’t like it. I hope this made sense.

I’ve tried searching it up, but haven’t found the answer that I’ve been looking for. If anyone can help me out that would be really great!

Anyways, the only challenge that I’ve completed so far was number 16. And for my Goodreads challenge I’ve only read 1 book out of 50.

*sigh* I HATE book slumps.

I also decided to add all the books that I assigned for each challenge below.

  1. A book you chose for the cover Resistance by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky 
  2. A book with a reputation for being un-put-down-able Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, recommended to me by Mandy at bookprincessreviews, thanks again!
  3. A book set somewhere you’ve never been but would like to visit The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, I’ve always wanted to go to Paris but I’ve never been there. 
  4. A book you’ve already read Tuckeverlasting by Natalie Babbitt, read this in 4th grade and loved it so much, I’m been dying to reread this one. 
  5. A juicy memoir I am Malala, I completely forgot that this has been on my TBR for ages now, thanks Ashley at insidemymind for reminding me! 
  6. A book about books or reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  7. A book in a genre you usually avoid I usually avoid erotica, because it’s not a genre that interest me. So, I decided to pick Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L James. I know, I could have picked a way better erotica, but I really want to read the infamous scenes. I wasn’t a fan of the movie though….
  8. A book you don’t want to admit you’re dying to read Fallen by Lauren Kate, heard it was similar to Twilight, and I’m not going to lie I really enjoy the first twilight book, even with all its faults. Plus, I love reading controversial reads. 
  9. A book in the backlist of a new favorite author I’m still waiting for this one, since it is a new favorite author and I’ve only read one book so far. 
  10. A book recommended by someone with great taste Still waiting for this one.
  11. A book you were excited to buy or borrow but haven’t read yet Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them the Screenplay by J.K Rowling, I’ve had this book for a while and I’ve been dying to read it, but I haven’t picked it up yet. As always, I’m behind on the bandwagon. 
  12. A book about a topic or subject you already love Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins, I love anything to do with witches/warlocks. 
  13. A Newbery Award Winner or Honor Book The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, A Newbery Award Winner in 2009.
  14. A book in translation The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  15. A book that’s more than 600 pages A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin, which is 835 pages.
  16. A book of poetry, a play, or an essay collection  The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace (review can be found here)
  17. A book of any genre that addresses current events 1984 by George Orwell, recommended to me by mybookinggreatblog, thanks again!.
  18. An immigrant story Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  19. A book published before you were born Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen, published in 1813. 
  20. Three books by the same author City of Glass, Clockwork Angel and City of Fallen Angels all by Cassandra Clare. At this point I’m only reading TMI because I really want to know what will happen to Magnus and Alec. I really want to read the infernal devices, but I don’t want to skip TMI cos I hate reading things out of order.  
  21. A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. This is an own voices, and since this has been on my TBR for a while I found it to be a perfect fit. 
  22. A book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson, this book has an unreliable narrator. 
  23. A book nominated for an award in 2017 Can’t choose this one yet, since we are only one month into 2017. 
  24. A Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award winner All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, was a Pulitzer prize winner in 2015. 

Those are all the books I plan on reading. There may be some changes along the way, if I don’t like a book that I originally picked.

Have you read any of the books that I mentioned? If so, which one and did you like it or dislike it? Let me know!

Thanks for reading ❤

11 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update #1 & Feature Image issue

  1. I recently re-read Tuck Everlasting for the Biannual Bibliothon, I just finished the Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh I loved it, and I read the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay in December, I also read the little textbook earlier in the year.

    Like

  2. Hopefully you enjoy Six of Crows! But I absolutely hate book slumps. I hope you get out of yours as soon as possible! The Wrath and th Dawn was pretty good, and I definitely can’t wait to see your thoughts on the Fallen series. That is a blast from the past. XD good luck!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

