The 2017 Reading Challenge

vintage wood backgrounds tumblr

Hey everyone!

If you have read my new years resolution post, then you know that one of my new years resolutions for 2017 is to complete a reading challenge. Last year, I started doing the 2016 Popsugar reading challenge in July, and it was a big fail, I only completed 15 out of the 40 tasks. This year however, will be different, because I’m starting a lot earlier thus giving me more time to complete the list.

I read over the Popsugar reading challenge for 2017, and didn’t particularly like some of the challenges. So, instead of modifying the ones I didn’t like, I decided to search for another one. And I found one!

I am doing the “The 2017 Reading Challenge” by the modern mrs.Darcy

There are two challenges you can choose from, reading for fun or reading for growth, I liked both so I decided to combine the two.

Here is the list (it’s also in the link above):

  1. A book you chose for the cover
  2. A book with a reputation for being un-put-down-able
  3. A book set somewhere you’ve never been but would like to visit
  4. A book you’ve already read
  5. A juicy memoir
  6. A book about books or reading
  7. A book in a genre you usually avoid
  8. A book you don’t want to admit you’re dying to read
  9. A book in the backlist of a new favorite author
  10. A book recommended by someone with great taste
  11. A book you were excited to buy or borrow but haven’t read yet
  12. A book about a topic or subject you already love
  13. A Newbery Award Winner or Honor Book
  14. A book in translation
  15. A book that’s more than 600 pages
  16. A book of poetry, a play, or an essay collection
  17. A book of any genre that addresses current events
  18. An immigrant story
  19. A book published before you were born
  20. Three books by the same author
  21. A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author
  22. A book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending
  23. A book nominated for an award in 2017
  24. A Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award winner

To motivate myself to complete this list, I will be updating my progress on this blog.

Are any of you participating on any reading challenges? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading ❤

12 thoughts on “The 2017 Reading Challenge

  1. good luck. I’m hosting a challenge on my blog and participating in a Litsy challenge, the book riot read harder challenge, and a few over on goodreads. I’m probably overcommitted to challenges but hopefully can use books for multiple challenges.

    Like

  2. Good luck! I’m doing Beat the Backlist, my own challenge, and the Goodreads goal challenge. Those are the only ones I’m doing right now, that might change as there may be other challenges during the months.

    Like

Leave a Reply

