Bookish Thoughts #4: Favorite Books I Read in 2016

book-magicaledit
This year was the year that I began to find my love for reading again. In January, I decided to participate on my very first Goodreads challenge. I decided to read 30 books and ended up reading 37. Because I read a lot of books (37 is a lot more than I use to read), I decided to reminisce on the books that I enjoyed the most.

In no particular order, here is my list.

1. You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

It’s very rare that I get genuinely creeped out or scared when reading a book. I’m a huge fan of horror, so much so, that I’m pretty much immune to it. Even though this book isn’t classified as horror, the realness of this story made me second guess ever speaking to strangers again.

2. Animal Farm by George Orwell

7613

I am so glad that I wasn’t forced to read this in school, because if I was, I don’t think I would have enjoyed it at all. For such a short book, the message was very impactful. This is one of those books that will always be prevalent to society no matter what year we are in. It opened my eyes to see things a little bit more differently, which I probably wouldn’t have appreciated if I read and analysed it to death in school. I think everyone should read this book at least once in their lives.

3. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

439288

I watched the movie years ago and loved it. This year, I finally got to read the book and my love for this story grew even more. I surprisingly related a lot to Melinda, even though she was going through something I thankfully have never experienced, I still saw a small part of myself in her. The ending was very satisfying and I loved her character growth and development.

4. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys 

25614492

You can find my review for this book here

I still can’t get this story out of my head, and everything I see it on my shelf I can’t help but feel a little heart broken each time.

5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

27774758

And to think that I was going to give up on this book after the first few pages. I didn’t think I was going to enjoy this one, but at one point I just couldn’t put it down. My emotions where all over the place, I’ve never feared so much for the main characters. Even though I can see why some people didn’t enjoy it, I can’t help but love it.

6. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini 

248704

This was such an enjoyable book, it was just so heartwarming. I loved most of the characters and how raw the story felt. For a book that deals with a main character who suffers depression, it was surprisingly very light.

What were you favorite reads of 2016? Let me know!

Thanks for reading ❤

8 thoughts on “Bookish Thoughts #4: Favorite Books I Read in 2016

  1. I loved Speak! I didn’t know there was a movie of it…
    I also loved Salt to the Sea, and would love to eventually get to one of her other books. Have you read any of them yet?

    Like

Leave a Reply

