Top 5 Wednesday #2: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

tumblr_static_9hb9cmokwhkwcwcggwc8wg40sedit

You can find the Goodreads group here.

This weeks topic: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season – I opened this topic up to TV as well (which T5W is always open to by the way if you can’t think of book answers), but I think this topic is especially good for books and TV. What series started out strong but got increasingly worse with each book?

1. The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

I absolutely loved Divergent. I thought it was fast paced, the plot was interesting and I loved all the characters.

Insurgent was a bit too slow for my liking and the characters started to get really annoying.

By Allegiant, I was ready to call it quits. I still read it, but I really had to force myself to finish it. I didn’t dislike it because of the ending, I understood why it had to happen. I disliked it because the characters were constantly fighting and going behind each others backs (except Christina, she wasn’t too bad), and the plot just got way too messy.

2. Pretty Little Liars (TV Show)

pretty-little-liars

I remember when this show first came out, I was a 13 year old in 6th grade. Started watching for the mystery, and because I enjoyed the first book. Fast forward 6 years later, I’m 19 years old, graduated both middle and high school, will begin university and this show is STILL running. I loved the first two seasons, but after that, the quality of this show has definitely gone down. Have I watched all 6 seasons? Yes. Will I keep watching when new episodes come out next year? Yes. Why? Because I have wasted so many hours on this show that I can’t give up now. I need answers.

3. Twilight

Twilight will forever have a special place in my heart. I read it when I was in 4th grade and it was the first YA book that I read. Honestly, the first book isn’t even that bad. The plot was pretty basic, sure, but it was still interesting. There was romance, paranormal elements and a lot of action. Even when I re read it now, I still enjoy it. But I can’t say the same for the other 3.

New moon – Bella just cries. All.the.time. Listen, I get it, she had a breakup and its okay to cry and eat your entire kitchen. But after a few weeks, you should realize that you are an independent human being who doesn’t need to rely on someone else for happiness.

Eclipse – Bella just uses people, and meh the plot in this one was pretty boring.

Breaking Dawn – I’m not even going to begin with this one. 756 pages of absolutely nothing.

4. The Vampire Diaries (TV Show)

16917305_900x1200.jpg

I think I left off on season 4 of Vampire Diaries. At the time, season 5 wasn’t on Netflix and I couldn’t find it anywhere to watch it. So by the time it took season 5 to appear on Netflix, I was no longer interested. I have a few friends who watch this show, and tell me whats happening. From the spoilers I’ve heard, the show is definitely not as great as it once was.

I couldn’t think of a 5th option because I haven’t read that many series that got worse with each book. I’m sorry if any of these are your favorite, I just didn’t personally like them.

If you agree or disagree with any of my choices let me know!

Thanks for reading ❤

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #2: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

  1. Ahh yes agree with every single one of your picks!! I don’t know how Pretty little liars is still running either!!! And honestly felt like Twilight could’ve been a standalone! I really didn’t care about Divergent by the end! and don’t even get me started about Vampire diaries!!! Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t been able to convince myself to read the divergent series yet. Pretty Little Liars I’ve watched the show a bunch of times and I’ve read a prequel and the first three.
    Vampire diaries has gone down in the seasons, especially since Elena left. It’s sad. I’m glad this is the last season. The books however were pretty good. I read all of them but the last one.
    Twilight- well I read them all and the little spin off about Bree, and I saw all the movies at the midnight release in the movie. Could the books have been better- yes… but it did eat me through a hard time in life. So I’ll always love them.

    Like

    • Honestly the first book in the divergent series is great, the other two were pretty disappointing. I really want to read the pretty little liars books, from what I’ve been hearing there are less plot holes in the books. I agree, Elena leaving was probably the worst move in the show, the whole show was based around her and her life. The first twilight book will always be my little guilty pleasure, but the others annoy me way too much.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

