Bookish Thoughts #2: If Songs Were Books + Happy Thanksgiving

Book-Magicaledit.jpg

I want to wish everyone a happy thanksgiving! May your day be filled with family, friends and good food ❤

If there is one thing you should know about me, is that I love music just as much as I love books. So I got to thinking, what if I merged the two together? I have gathered a few of my favorite songs and I will be seeing if I can connect it to a book, and explain why.

1.  Sunburn by Ed Sheeran

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

15745753

“She was mine

I was hers

And all that’s in between

If she would cry

I would shelter her

And keep her from the darkness that will be”

This is the part of the song that I found perfectly describes the relationship between Eleanor & Park. Eleanor has a very unfortunate family life, and is a very insecure person, and park tries his best to make her feel special and wanted.

2. Murder Song (5, 4, 3, 2, 1) by Aurora 

You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

“He holds my body in his arms

He didn’t mean to do no harm

And he holds me tight

Oh, he did it all to spare me from the awful things in life that come

And he cries and cries”

The more of the lyrics I read, the more it reminded me of You. We follow the main character Joe, who thinks he has fallen in love with a woman he met at the bookstore, named Guinevere Beck. Wanting to be her boyfriend, Joe goes to extreme measure and manipulates situations, all in hopes of having beck all to himself.

3. Run by Daughter

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (can be applied to any of the books)

7938275

“And I won’t tell my mother.

It’s better she don’t know

And he won’t tell his folks,

‘Cause they’re already ghosts.

And we’ll just keep each other,

As safe as we can.

Until we reach the border,

Until we make our plan. 

To run, run, run, run…”

I feel like this can be really applied to the second and third books of the Hunger Game trilogy. When I listen to this song, I can picture Katniss and Peeta making plans to run away from the games and from the capitol. Yes, this plan has occurred many times in Katniss’s head, but she always stuck around for her family.

4. The Boy with the Thorn in His Side by The Smiths

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

22557272

“The boy with the thorn in his side

Behind the hatred there lies

A murderous desire for love

How can they look into my eyes

And still they don’t believe me?

How can they hear me say those words

Still they don’t believe me?

And if they don’t believe me now

Will they ever believe me?”

 Maybe this one is a bit of a stretch. However, the main character Rachel, keeps trying to find out what really happened to the girl she always sees when she’s on the train. When she thinks she knows the truth, the struggles to get people to believe her.

And that’s it! I had a hard time finding books to fit into song, probably because I haven’t read that many books. Do you agree with my list, or have a better song to movie option? Let me know!

Thanks for reading ❤

 

9 thoughts on “Bookish Thoughts #2: If Songs Were Books + Happy Thanksgiving

  1. I think you’ve come up with some great matching song options 🙂 I don’t have any to add, but I do find that each of my own books have had a piece of music that ‘goes’ with them – often I’ll play it on a loop while writing, as it just puts me in the right mood for the story. So perhaps that’s something similar?

    Like

Leave a Reply

