The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

purple-flower-wallpaper-tumblr-1edit

Hello everyone! I thought it would be really fun to do a book tag question as my first official post! I know I know I’m pretty late to this party but I love this tag so here it is!

1. What was the last book you read?

15749186

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

2. Was is a good one?

Yes!

3. What made it good?

It was a very fluffy and cute contemporary read. Although I found it pretty predictable I did enjoy the plot line and the characters (even during their immature moments).

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Yes I would, especially if you enjoy contemporary and quick reads.

5. How often do you read?

I try to read as often as possible but the slump usually gets the best of me. If I’m not in a slump (or drowning in school work) I can get through at least 3 books a month.

6. Do you like to read?

Yes, if I didn’t I wouldn’t be doing this tag.

7. What was the last bad book you read?

29069989

I wouldn’t say it was completely bad, it did have some good parts to it, but as a whole it didn’t feel like a Harry Potter book.

8. What made you dislike it?

I felt like the characters were out character and it sort of read like a fan fiction.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

Honestly, I would love to write and publish a book one day, but at the same time I don’t think I’d be a good writer. But in the future if I come up with a good storyline and actually complete it I might publish so who knows, that would be very exciting though.

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Yes, every book I’ve read has influenced me in one way or another.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

I had a phase where I was completely obsessed with fan fictions but at the moment I don’t read any and haven’t for years.

12. Do you write fan fiction?

This is embarrassing to admit but yes. I don’t publish them and never plan on publishing them but I need to work on my writing and since I can’t think of good plots and characters I find fan fictions a great alternative.

13. What’s your favorite book?

2

This was hard to choose because I love so many books but I could never go wrong with Order of the Phoenix. There’s so much to love about this book so I’m quickly going to name off the things I loved: new characters such as Luna Lovegood and Umbridge (even though she made me so angry), the prophecy being introduced and explained, Voldemort making his grand debut after being weak for so long, things start to get real dark. Okay okay I could go on forever but then this answer will turn into an essay.

14. What’s your least favorite book?  

52357

This was the first book I read for my 12th grade english class. The teacher was pretty disorganized and we were all over the place with this book which probably explains why this made the cut. Till this day I still don’t understand what this book is about or the hype around it.

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

I prefer physical books.

16. When did you learn to read?

I think I was 4 or 5.

17. What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

84981

I read this when I was in 4th grade and it was the first book that I absolutely fell in love with. Everyone in the entire class was so into this book that when a kid in my class (thanks James!) spoiled the ending we turned into enraged little 9 year olds (not a pretty sight). I haven’t read it since 4th grade, but I still remember every single detail of the book, and my heart becomes warm and fuzzy whenever I think about it.

18. What is your favorite book series?

IMG_9325 (1).jpg

Definitely Harry Potter!! I know I know I have five sets of them but in my defense three sets are in another language. And look how pretty they make my bookshelf look *swoons*.

19. Who is your favorite author?

Oh my god how can I pick just one? I have multiple.

20. What is you favorite genre?

I guess if I had to pick just one it would definitely be fantasy.

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

This was hard since I love a lot of characters but I’ll have to go with Craig from It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. I didn’t really like him at first but the more I read the more I could relate to him.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

Every single book I’ve read.

23. Which book do you wish had a sequel?

237209

 I know its part of a series, but the other books follow a different protagonist. I really wish she made another book in Rob Ryan’s point of view, because there’s one thing that I (alongside a majority of the people who read this book) really want to find out.

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

Depends on how much time I have and how good the book is. If it’s a good book it can take me anywhere from 1 to 3 days to finish. If I don’t really like a book or I don’t have much time to read it can take me a week or longer.

26. Do you like when books become movies?

I’m a movie junkie so yes, but then often times they never turn out that great which always ends up disappointing me. But there have been book to movie adaptations that I really loved.

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

Allegiant by Veronica Roth. The book itself was pretty meh for me, there was a lot I didn’t like but the movie made it even worse.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

The Hunger games by Suzanne Collins. It wasn’t until I read the books then watched the movie straight after that I realized how true to the books the movies were. Sure they changed up some bits and didn’t add certain scenes but it could have been way worse. A lot of the dialogue in the books were added in the movies which I loved.

29. Do you read newspapers?

Physically no, I read a lot of the news online or I watch on tv.

30. Do you read magazines?

Nope, unless I’m in a waiting room and its my only form of entertainment.

31. Do you prefer newspapers of magazines?

Hmm, it depends on my mood. Plus they both offer different information so it’s pretty hard to choose.

32. Do you read while in bed?

Yup.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Nope, if I did I’d be in there for hours.

34. Do you read while in the car?

Nope, I get car sick if I do which is unfortunate.

35. Do you read while in the bath?

I take showers so no.

36. Are you a fast reader?

I’d say I read at a normal speed. Unless I’m really into the book that’s when I read fairly quickly.

37. Are you a slow reader?

I can be if I’m really tired or don’t really like the book.

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

The living room, when no one is home. We have a really comfy couch and I love reading on it.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

Sometimes, if I’m too tired or if there are lots of people around me I find it difficult to stay focused.

40. Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

A bit of background noise doesn’t bother me but if it’s too loud then I can’t concentrate.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My dad, when I was younger he use to take me to the public library every time I got out of ballet practice, since the studio was in a community center with a library. My dad also loves to read so being surrounded by his books helped as well.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

Salt to the sea by Ruta Sepetys.

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

The first chapter book I read was when I was in 2nd grade (7 years old) when I picked up A Series of Unfortunate Events and loved it.

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

Definitely Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler).

45. Which author would you most want to interview

J.K Rowling!

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Either Rainbow Rowell or Ned Vizzini (even though he unfortunately passed).

47. What book have you reread the most?

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. It took me years to complete this series so whenever I decided to pick it back up again I’d start from the beginning.

48. Which books of you consider “classics”?

I’ve always considered the books that were written before the 21st century classics, because that’s what english teachers would always refer too when speaking of classics in class. But I consider a few modern books as classics as well.

49.Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

I think they should offer more than one type of book to read in school. I understand that there are classical books that are important to be taught in schools, but they should mix it up and introduce other genres of books such as contemporary, fantasy, mystery etc.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

Unless they are extremely inappropriate, I don’t think they should ban any books in schools. A lot of the banned books aren’t even that bad and they can open a lot of people’s minds and teach people to see the world in a way that isn’t always so black and white.

Phew, 50 questions didn’t seem so long until I actually began writing it out! I don’t know who to tag but if you are reading this consider yourself tagged, if you wish to do it. Or if you have already done it let me know! I’d love to read your responses.

Thanks for reading ❤

6 thoughts on “The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

Leave a Reply

